Pro Day Results

I just got done with Pro Day yesterday and overall this whole process has gone very well.  I knew I had pro day really as my only opportunity to make a statement for myself.  With no combine invite or post-season all star game, pro day was my only chance I had to turn some heads. I think I made a pretty strong case for myself.

My Numbers look like this.

Height: 6’7.6

Weight: 335lbs

Arm Length: 34 7/8″

Wing Span: 83″

225lbs: 21 reps

40 time: 5.30

Vertical Jump: 27″

Broad Jump: 8’1

I think these results show that I’m very large and pretty athletic as well.  To get in the NFL  I’ve heard you need size, strength & speed.

However, one of the scouts told me yesterday that it isn’t always the most athletic, or strongest linemen that wins the battle, it’s the one with the longest arms.  I guess they really liked that I have almost a 7 foot wingspan and about 35 inch long arms.

I’m just hoping that my combination is enough to get my name called at the end of April in the NFL draft.

I’d like to avoid this mess that free agency will be.  When ever this lockout is over, free agency will open up and it will be a busy time for everyone, with NFL free agency and all the existing NFL players and all the players that are usually invited to camp after the draft all available to be signed.

Until the draft, I’m just going to continue doing what I’ve been doing.  Rise & grind.  Try to use everyday as an opportunity to get better, in the weight room and on the field.

Thanks to all the fans who showed up for the autograph session at Sierra Gold last night, I had a great time talking to some of the fans here in Reno.

I look forward to seeing some more fans Thursday night from 4-6pm at Silver and Blue Outfitters in Meadow wood mall, and on Sunday at our ring ceremony in the Eldorado.

JWB

About johnwbender

John Bender Graduate of the University of Nevada Offensive lineman for the Calgary Stampeders
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pro Day Results

  1. Patrick H says:

    Keep grinding John. Look at what Harvey Dahl had to go through before he got his chance so have faith regardless of what happens come draft day. Good luck.

  2. D Clark - Canada says:

    John, all the best. Well Done.

  3. Val Doyle says:

    Best of luck to you John, I’ve heard only good things about you from the family (I’m sure there’s no bias there!).
    From:
    Your Mom’s cousin in Montreal

Leave a Reply

