10 days from Pro day

I just got done another week of training. I spent about an hour and a half this morning working on offensive line drills and the agility drills that I am going to be tested on for pro day.  I’m making strides and getting better at them each and every day.

Thankfully I’ve had some favorable weather to train outside lately.  Those snow days cost me a few days of training earlier on. Now I know why most people generally leave to train somewhere else like Arizona or Florida because I’m sure they didn’t miss training because of snow days.

Hard to believe that I’m training as hard as I can to try and get a chance to play a game that’s in a lockout right now. It leaves a lot of unknowns for us as players.

For example, if I’m lucky enough to get drafted, what do I do then? There wouldn’t be any mini-camps, I don’t get any money, how do I get by if this lockout goes for an extended period of time. I imagine I can only live on my agents dime for so long before I’d have to get a regular job like everyone else.

The even more stressful scenario would be if I didn’t get drafted, because usually after the draft a good amount of players get picked up as Free Agents and a lot of them end up on the 53 man roster at the end of camp, or even perhaps the practice roster.  If I didn’t get drafted I would kind of be in limbo. Or as it’s been explained to me, it would be like they cancelled my flight at the airport and I would be waiting to see when the next flight would be.  Which could take months.

I know I’ve already been drafted into the CFL, but if I do report to the CFL I have to sign a contract which is a guaranteed 2 years.  CFL players like me, non-import offensive linemen who would be able to contribute generally make pretty decent money. But in 2 years I wouldn’t make what I would make in 1 NFL season.  So hopefully they can get this lockout over with ASAP, so us players stop worrying about all these different scenarios.

I know everyone wants their to be a football season next year.

Only 10 days remain until pro day on March 22nd.  I’m really excited to be able to have the opportunity to show my strength and athleticism in these drills.  I’ve heard that we have confirmation that all 32 teams will have at least 1 scout in attendance at our pro day. Which is great to hear.

After pro day is over, you can join me for a bite to eat at Sierra Gold on South Meadows at 6pm on March 22nd. I along with a few other players who are competing in pro day will be there.

I will also be at Silver and Blue Outfitters sometime that week for an autograph session.

Then on March 27th me and the rest of the players are excited to get our Championship rings, so I have a lot to look forward to in this coming month.

I’ll be sure to give an update after pro day, hopefully with good results!

 

 

About johnwbender

John Bender Graduate of the University of Nevada Offensive lineman for the Calgary Stampeders
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

