Luck has nothing to do with it.

I’ve always had a problem with this and thought that I should bring this up as it continues to occur regularly.  Every time someone refers to my life, my situation or anything that I have earned as “oh you’re so lucky.”  I can’t help but tell them that they’re wrong. Luck had nothing to do with it.

I came across this just the other day, someone wanted to tell me how lucky they thought I was.  I was intrigued, and wanted to know what they meant by it exactly.  They said you’re so lucky that you get to go to school on scholarship, play college football in front of fans and be recognized practically everywhere I go.

I didn’t like being called lucky, I don’t believe in it. Sometimes you are fortunate to be put into certain situations, but just because I’m a football player here and go to school, doesn’t make me lucky. I earned the right to be able to do that, and as I have been here, I have earned the right to continue to be a student athlete by maintaining good grades, being a good teammate and by my play on the field.  If you think that’s easy, try telling that to the guys who can’t handle it and either quit, get kicked off the team or fail out of school.  (I would estimate in my 5 years in the program that number is easily above 25 people)

As it got me thinking more, it got to the point where I felt nothing but disrespected by being told that I was lucky.  To me, lucky is a term that you use for someone who wins a raffle, someone who gets something they didn’t really earn, and someone has the audacity to tell me how lucky I am?

This las Tuesday, I didn’t have a class, not a single one, I was on campus from 8 30 am until 9 pm.  That’s over 12 hours, and I didn’t step foot in the class room.  I had weights, film, meetings, practice, more film, a student athlete seminar, and then I hit up the library to work on group projects and homework assignments.  Today I was on campus from 9 am-11pm. Yeah, 14 hour days in season, trying to take care of everything I need to take care of so that me and my teammates are successful. A lot of players and students go through the same grueling schedule that I go through, I understand that, if you work hard you should expect success,you shouldn’t  expect to be called lucky.

If someone had called me blessed, I wouldn’t have had  a problem with it, I agree with that statement.  I have been blessed, I have been presented with several opportunities in my life and have tried my best to take full advantage of them.

If someone had called me fortunate, I would have agreed with them, that’s a good choice of words. Yes, I believe I have been able to do a lot of things that maybe some people aren’t able to do, for whatever reason.

But lucky?  Come on now, lets not be ridiculous. I am not a lucky person, call me fortunate, blessed, or another word you want to come up with, but please, don’t ever refer to me as being lucky.

“Some people dream of success, others wake up everyday and work hard at it.” ~ Anonymous

PS. Thanks to all the fans who have approached me and told me how much you enjoyed reading my blog. I will try to blog more throughout the season. Hope you continue to enjoy reading my blog.

JWB

About johnwbender

John Bender Graduate of the University of Nevada Offensive lineman for the Calgary Stampeders
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Luck has nothing to do with it.

  1. Darren says:

    Another blog that is spot on. Keep them coming John.

Leave a Reply

