Alex Rodriguez, a role model?

I am going to start out by saying I am a big baseball fan and I love the game. Some of my fondest memories growing up were watching Blue Jays baseball games with my grandpa.  I however, like most people have developed some issues with the MLB. With the 600th HR today of one of the faces of the MLB in Alex Rodriguez. I chose no better time than now to speak my mind on this matter.

Remember the days when we had prominent people to look at and think to yourself, wow that is what I want to be like one day, or that’s a great role model for my son/daughter to look up to.  That person would be looked at as a role model for our youth.  Generally we can look to several places to find that person, whether it be professional athletes, politicians, doctors, lawyers, and the list goes on.

I am going to look at one specific person, in Alex Rodriguez who I believe has failed immensely in what I believe is his responsibility to be a role model to the youth of america.

Alex Rodriguez today became the youngest person to ever hit 600 Home runs*.  Notice the asterisk?  He used steroids.  That record shouldn’t count.  Alex Rodriguez, his baseball career, it’s a lie. He used performance enhancing drugs, steroids, and he admitted to using them. After previously lying to all of america on 60 minutes, he later revealed in an ESPN article that he had in fact used steroids from 2001-2003 due to the extreme pressure he felt from signing such a huge contract.

First of all, A-Rod you’ve lied to us once. At this point I see A-Rod as a cheater, and a liar.  I’m not done.

Alex Rodriguez signed the biggest contract in major league history, then he signed one bigger than that. Yes, he owns the 2 biggest contracts in major league history. Let me reiterate this, Alex Rodriguez took steroids, an illegal performance enhancing substance, he should be in jail and out of baseball.  He isn’t.He laughed all the way to the bank.   He’s still making over $25 million annually to play the sport that he is the face of and has diminished its value to me along with I’m sure countless other fans.

Well seeing as Alex Rodriguez cheated at baseball, I wonder how many other aspects of life he cheats at? I know one more for sure, on his wife. He has been seen several times hanging out with strippers in various cities around the country. What a classy young man this Alex Rodriguez guy is.  I know if and when I have a son, I will tell him that Alex Rodriguez was a talented baseball player, and there and only there is where the admiration stops.

Look at Alex Rodriguez as a man and tell me if this is what you call a role model?

My biggest problem with all of this is when the next generation grows up and all they’ve seen is their sports heroes such as Alex Rodriguez have lied and cheated their way to the top of the sports world. When in reality he should look at himself in the mirror and be disgusted for cheating himself, his teammates, and the rest of the players in the MLB for what he did.

Now you can sit here and make excuses for him and say it was the era or whatever you want.  But I’m not interested in making excuses.  It starts up top with Bud Selig, all this was done under his watch.  The steroid era dramatically changed the record books, and everything about the game. It diminished the respect for the game, and any fan who isn’t upset about all this, you aren’t really a fan.

When all is said and done I for one hope that A-Rod and his 300+ million dollars he’s made in the MLB can’t buy his way into the hall of fame at Cooperstown, no matter how many records he continues to break and how many championships the New York Yankees (The definition of what is wrong with baseball) win(uh, I mean buy).

If anyone wants to bring up the argument that steroids don’t help you perform you still have to hit. I will bring up to you this argument.  Barry Bonds has long been considered a heavy steroid user, he started out his career as a 175lb wiry leadoff hitter and “grew” into a middle of the order 240lb man who put anything you pitched on the plate into McCovey cove.  This season’s home run leader is Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays, he has 33 home runs and has hit 5 more than ANY other player in Major League Baseball up to today.   The season that Barry Bonds had when he hit 73 home-runs, he had 39 Home Runs AT THE ALL STAR BREAK!

I hope they clean up “America’s game” and hope it hasn’t already had a drastic effect on america’s youth.  They’ve seen all these professional athletes cheat, cheat and continue to cheat, all the while making millions of dollars and haven’t had to at any point be accountable for what they’ve done.

About johnwbender

John Bender Graduate of the University of Nevada Offensive lineman for the Calgary Stampeders
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

